

Minutes

Official's Subcommittee FAI CIA Commission Maison Du Sport, Lausanne, Switzerland



14 March 2024

Members:

Steve Ireland (Australia) Chairman Hiromi Furukawa (Japan) Sanne Haarhuis (Netherlands) Hiromori Soejima (Japan) Debbie Spaeth (USA) Li Tong (China) Lynn Sullivan (USA) Sylvia Meinl (Germany)

1/ Roll call, apologies for absence

Steve Ireland Hiromi Furukawa Debbie Spaeth Sylvia Meinl

Apologies from :-Sanne Haarhuis Li Tong Lynn Sullivan Hiromori Soejima

Observers as follows:-Claude Weber (part of the meeting) Eric Decellieres Katsura Endo Mike Meinl Erwin Pellegrom Luc Van Geyte

2/Review Official's Subcommittee's 2023 minutes.

The Subcommittee (SC) reviewed last years minutes and accepted them as representative of last years meeting.

3/ Points for action from last years plenary

PMR request for reviewing documents on the website.

This is an ongoing project involving all members as well as anyone involved with the CIA.

4/ Event directors list:

Claude Weber requested to address the SC meeting on his ideas for the Event Director's (ED) selection criteria. This generated significant discussion and it was decided to update the ED list selection criteria to the following:-

CAT 1. Event Director selection criteria:

1. Pilot experience in Aerostation for the intended discipline.

2. At least been the Deputy Director for a CIA First Category or CIA Sporting Event or Event Director of a National Championships and been a senior official at a Category 1 event on more than one occasion.

3. A Pass in the Entry level juror exams.

4. Holder of an FAI sporting license.

5. Provide a curriculum vitae of aerostation experience

6.CIA Approved Directors are required to provide mentoring for senior level officials, including Steward, Jury, Scoring Officer & Safety Officer with a view to promote them to the Event Director's List. This includes working closely to allow them to learn about the finer points of the event management team.

Update Event Directors list.

The SC has received two applications for inclusion on the ED list. It was decided by the SC that neither of the applications had yet fulfilled all the requirements of the selection criteria and will require further conditions to be addressed to satisfy the selection criteria. Therefore there are no changes to the ED list this year.

The current Event Director's list is as follows: -

	AX	AA	BX
David Bareford (GBR)	Х		
Thomas Fink (GER)		Х	
Martin Wegner (GER)	Х		
Markus Haggeney (GER		Х	
Eugenijus Komas (LTU)	Х		
Gary Lacey (AUS)	X		
Garry Lockyer (CAN)	Х		X Pending application
Sylvia Meinl (GER)	Х		
Paolo Oggioni (ITA)	Х		
Paul Petrehn (USA)	Х		
Les Purfield (GBR)	Х		
Hiromori Soejima (JPN)	Х		
Maury Sullivan (USA)	X		
Claude Weber (LUX)	Х		

5/ Chief Officials list:

This is an ongoing project.

6/ Items referred from elsewhere

None

7/Any other business:

None

8/ Proposed Motions

Motion1: To accept the changes to the Event Director selection criteria. Motion2: To accept the minutes of the Official's Subcommittee.

9/ Election of 2024 SC Members and Chairperson.

During the meeting one of the observers agreed to become a member of this SC. This was agreed by the current members and the following list is the current Official's SC membership. One other observer is interested in becoming a member of the SC but would like to be an observer for one more year before making a final decision.

Steve Ireland (chair) Hiromi Furukawa (member) Debbie Spaeth (member) Sylvia Meinl (member) Erwin Pellegrom (member)



Fédération Aéronautique Internationale Avenue de Rhodanie 54 CH-1007 Lausanne Switzerland Tel: +41 21 345 10 70 Fax: +41 21 345 10 77 www.fai.org info@fai.org