## Statutes By-Laws and Sporting Code WG - Annex 2

As you chair the statute WG, I do have a request to you on behalf of Switzerland. I copy the bureau in case they have any input.

As you might know Switzerland is the permanent holder of the Europeans Trophy. We always thought this would be the case after winning 3 times in a row, but when reading the rules we have realized that this was already the case much earlier.

Rule 12.4.2 of the Internal Regulations reads:

The Challenge Cup shall be awarded to the NAC of the winner of the Championship, custodian of the Challenge CUP until the next Championship. The Cup will be won permanently if a pilot or pilots from the same NAC win the European Hot Air Championship three times or at two consecutive Championships.

Thus, Switzerland would actually have won the cup already twice: In 2011 (2 consecutive times) and in 2017 (2nd time 2 consecutive times). Also the rule that three times winning the championship (without any requirement on it being consecutive) doesn't make sense, as this could become a "random" win over time...

Also the 2x consecutive could be somewhat accidental. Overall I think this rule is too easy to win the cup permanently.

I would like to suggest that the rules is changed (for all championships, not just the Europeans), to read:

The Cup will be won permanently if a pilot or pilots from the same NAC win the European Hot Air Championship three consecutive Championships. (Change the same also to the World Championship trophy)

This is also in line with the Coupe Aéronautique Gordon Bennett where the history shows that the cup was already won several time permanently. Also, the 3x consecutive is what people understand in common sense about winning the trophy permanently.

I would like to ask you to add this topic on the agenda for your WG. As I won't be at the plenary this year, I am happy to have any discussion about it prior to the meeting.

As a note: Switzerland will donate a new trophy...

Best Regards, Marc